Skip to content

Albums of the Year – Halfway Report

June 16, 2022

I haven’t written any blog posts for a long time so I decided I should get going again. They say write about what you know, and I thought a blog about arthritis pain and hernias would not be very interesting so I will stick to music.

There has been a rush of albums appearing over recent weeks as the Covid problems ease so I thought I would write about a few of my favourites.

There is nowhere better to start than with the latest offering from Adam Holmes. “Hope Park” is an absolute jewel of a CD and adds to a long list of fine albums from the Edinburgh singer/songwriter.

From the upbeat opening track, “Counting on You” right through to the closing hymn to his hometown, this is an album of simply gorgeous songs. Adam has a knack of writing lines that mess with your very soul. “When I am gone and my life’s left behind, may it be said I was gentle and kind”, “Her orphans all scream as they breathe In the air”, “And when I hear the summer laughing I turn around and she’ll be there, coloured patches on her jacket and flowers in her air”, “Some days I feel like a motherless child” “My love’s a rebel she moves like the wind, she comes like the winter, she goes like the spring”. I could go on, but you get the picture. Hope Park is not released until August but is now available from Adam’s website. I thoroughly recommend you but it now!

My next recommendation is “And So We Gather by Kim Carnie. It is a mixture of self-penned and traditional songs in English and Gaelic, and it is quite beautiful.

ROSC is the new CD from Irish band Goitse and is a fine collection of songs and tunes. Aine McGeeney’s voice has a touch of the old Sean Nos style, but I love it. The musicianship is quite superb too.

Next up is Aisling, the new album from Eabhal. Another mixture of songs and tunes in English and Gaelic and one that I listen to a lot daily. Their version of “Annabel Lee” is a highlight for me.

There are a few other albums that deserve a mention, New Moon by Ho Ro, Smoke and Oakum by The Longest Johns, Feel the Ground You Walk Upon by Lewis McLaughlin and This Too by Kinaris Quintet. I will finish with another two crackers.

First up is “Sing It For A Lifetime” by Heidi Talbot. This is an album that is obviously inspired (if that’s the right word) by her recent break up. The songs are all emotional and heartfelt, none more so than “You Left Me” and “Broken Mirror”, both co-written with Dirk Powell. The album ends with Dolly Parton’s “When Possession Gets Too Strong”. It is sometimes hard to listen to, but it is a great album.

Finally, we have an absolute gem of an album, “To Have You Near” by Hannah Rarity. It is a mixture of originals and covers, all of which are performed with exquisite clarity. “My Friend” and “Kaleidoscope” are the pick of the self-penned songs while Boo Hewrdine’s “I’m Not Going Anywhere” and Davy Steele’s “Scotland Yet” are excellent covers. The pick of the album though, is Hannah’s version of “Take It With Me” by Tom Waits. If I had to pick one song to hear every day for the rest of my life, this would be a good choice. It is simply breath-taking.

There we go, I hope someone can find something new to listen to in among that lot. I have my first mainland post-covid live gig tomorrow so that may be worth another blog!

Slainte.

Hughie

June 2022

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Looking forward to checking the ones I haven’t heard yet out! Good luck for the gig – very exciting, and I’ll look forward to the blog!

Leave a comment